Music Magic

It all began several years ago at FNM: I would play a card; say, Birds of Paradise, and the name would remind me of a song: “Almost Paradise” by Mike Reno and Ann Wilson (from the movie “Footloose”). Of course then I’d have to sing a parody of the song using the card name. Then my friend would play a card like Elves of Deep Shadow, and he would sing it to the tune of “Knights in White Satin” by the Moody Blues. Time passed, and various cards continued to remind us of songs. Eventually we started a list, which I still add to when a new card brings a song to mind. For example, first time I saw Hangarback Walker, I sang it to the tune of “Paperback Writer” by the Beatles. Turns out I wasn’t the only one. I decided to write this blog entry when I saw The Girlfriend Bracket co-host Kriz share this installment of Mark Rosewater’s “Tales from the Pit”:

fromthepit

So let’s get started!

birdsofparadise

Birds of Paradise – “Almost Paradise” by Mike Reno and Ann Wilson

Birds of Paradise
We’re tapping a mana dork
Birds of Paradise
How could we ask for more

elvesofdeepshadow

Elves of Deep Shadow – “Knights in White Satin” by the Moody Blues

Elves of Deep Shadow
You’re a Pain Land with legs
Life I am losing 
Because you tap to make
One Black Mana
YES BLACK MANA!
OH BLACK MANA!!!

neverendingtorment

Neverending Torment – “Never Ending Story” by Limahl

See your cards
Your whole library….
Exile them
And what you see will be….
Spells that you cannot cast
Will be sitting in a pile
And there upon my upkeep
Is a copy of my Neverending Torment…

cracklingdoom

Crackling Doom – “Cracklin’ Rosie” by Neil Diamond

Crackling Doom, it makes me smile
Going to sac a creature, that’s not all
You lose two life
It cuts like a knife
This is the card that should be Mardu Charm, yeah

tromokratis

Tromokratis – “Rock Me Amadeus” by Falco

Tromokratis, Tromokratis – Tromokratis!
Tromokratis, Tromokratis -Tromokratis!

Oh Oh Oh, TROMOKRATIS!

esperzoa

Esperzoa – “Desperado” by the Eagles

Esperzoa, why are you a win condition?
You been bouncing artifacts for so long now
Oh, you’re an odd one
I know that you’re a jellyfish.
The drawback should be hurtin’ you
Can help you somehow

wheelofsunandmoon

Wheel of Sun and Moon – “Earth and Sun and Moon” by Midnight Oil

I wish you could see, you just can’t mill me
Wheel of Sun and Moon, enchantment, two green/white,
Wheel of Sun and Moon, in the side *

(*sideboard)

flayerofthehatebound

Flayer of the Hatebound – “Everybody Dance Now” by C&C Music Factory

FLAYER OF THE HATEBOUND!

cruelultimatum

Cruel Ultimatum – “Smooth Operator” by Sade

No place for beginners or sensitive hearts
When seven mana’s spent to cast
No place to be ending but somewhere to start

No need to ask
It’s a Cruel Ultimatum
Cruel Ultimatum, Cruel Ultimatum
Cruel Ultimatum!

[MORE TO COME]

About Bud Johnson

https://youtube.com/@ghostofsocrates
This entry was posted in Community and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment